Orinoco Blues


Mothering is easy as swimming upstream in a river that never ends.

Since my water broke, the babbling water has all but broken me.

We are blue
And fighting

Fighting
like
Swimming
as if kicking waves

I swim downstream
to catch her upstream, she
flails
upstream
to spite and smite me

We are fighting
like swimming
Swimming
as if kicking
and hitting
water

swimming
and
fighting
kicking
with all
our hands and feet

Let me say
Let me say

reach
reach
only me

say
say

Mommy Mommy teach
only me

reach
reach
only me

see me

No
No

Again
Again

No
No

No
No

I said No No
again
again
No No

I’m going away
I’m going away
I’m going away

From the very first
I allowed
but then you
and if you

to the very very true
to the very very you
from the look or see

again
again
again

again
again
again

No
No

Please
clean it up clean it up
pick it up pick it up
turn it down turn it down

up up up

away away away
away away away

Stay near
don’t you dare
go away away
away

From the first I stood my ground and we were going to then see
and this scene you astound and it is not this philosophy

Mommy Mommy
carry me
carry me
carry me
to the shore I broke my knee

Mommy Mommy Mommy
carry me
I think I’m going to bleed

carry me
on your back
between your shoulderblades

carry me
to the
we can say say
say say

I’m going away
I’m going away

These are the good years
The years of loving

These are the good years
when the stomping and the pouting and the flouncing away
sound like the same water
singing

~ by lhdwriter on June 17, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 761 other followers

